The twelve days of Tech Comm

Today’s technical communicator must work with multiple tools and multiple output formats, be adept at audience analysis, and be social-media savvy — often while working on remote teams and often performing double duty as an information architect (IA).

Or, put another way….

HollyOn the first day of Christmas my IA gave to me
A comprehensive content strategy

On the second day of Christmas my IA gave to me
Two home-office cats
And a comprehensive content strategy

On the third day of Christmas my IA gave to me
Three DITA maps
Two home-office cats
And a comprehensive content strategy

On the fourth day of Christmas my IA gave to me
Four personas
Three DITA maps
Two home-office cats
And a comprehensive content strategy

On the fifth day of Christmas my IA gave to me
Five SMEs
Four personas
Three DITA maps
Two home-office cats
And a comprehensive content strategy

On the sixth day of Christmas my IA gave to me
Six mobile platforms
Five SMEs
Four personas
Three DITA maps
Two home-office cats
And a comprehensive content strategy

On the seventh day of Christmas my IA gave to me
Seven issues of Intercom
Six mobile platforms
Five SMEs
Four personas
Three DITA maps
Two home-office cats
And a comprehensive content strategy

On the eighth day of Christmas my IA gave to me
Eight how-to videos
Seven issues of Intercom
Six mobile platforms
Five SMEs
Four personas
Three DITA maps
Two home-office cats
And a comprehensive content strategy

On the ninth day of Christmas my IA gave to me
Nine UX testcases
Eight how-to videos
Seven issues of Intercom
Six mobile platforms
Five SMEs
Four personas
Three DITA maps
Two home-office cats
And a comprehensive content strategy

On the tenth day of Christmas my IA gave to me
Ten blog posts to curate
Nine UX testcases
Eight how-to videos
Seven issues of Intercom
Six mobile platforms
Five SMEs
Four personas
Three DITA maps
Two home-office cats
And a comprehensive content strategy

On the eleventh day of Christmas my IA gave to me
Eleven #techcomm tweets
Ten blog posts to curate
Nine UX testcases
Eight how-to videos
Seven issues of Intercom
Six mobile platforms
Five SMEs
Four personas
Three DITA maps
Two home-office cats
And a comprehensive content strategy

On the twelfth day of Christmas my IA gave to me
Twelve red-pencil edits (remember those?)
Eleven #techcomm tweets
Ten blog posts to curate
Nine UX testcases
Eight how-to videos
Seven issues of Intercom
Six mobile platforms
Five SMEs
Four personas
Three DITA maps
Two home-office cats
And a comprehensive content strategy

Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good night.

Originally published on the SDI blog, 19 December 2012

2 thoughts on “The twelve days of Tech Comm

  1. Pingback: The twelve days of Tech Comm | TechCommGeekMom

Tell me what you think

